Are You Happy?

As a military wife I have struggled with spouts of depression. The topic has come up a number of times lately, especially since the uniform switch. Some of the men headed out are in new uniforms and wives have told me that it brings with it spouts of anxiety attacks and just overwhelming sadness at what lies ahead. It is a hard life that we have been called to. But depression does not have to control us. Today’s post to The Esther Project is just a chance to evaluate where we are and how to move forward.

Today’s post was written by Deb and is taken from 5 Minutes for Faith with Deb’s permission of course.

Are You Happy? Do You Want to Be Happy?

Written on July 18, 2012 by  in BlogDebDevotional

Let me begin by telling you that I have battled depression . . . both situational and chemical/hormonal. I’ve been depressed at times when the people around me understood, and at times when they had no idea what to do or how to help.

If you are dealing with depression know that I am praying for you as I write this.

Something I have learned from my struggle with depression:

I want to be happy!

If you want to be happy too . . . I have some suggestions for you:

1. Get help –  Talk to your doctor, talk to a counselor, confide in someone you trust. DON’T try to fight this alone. Sometimes Christians believe that getting help for depression shows a weak faith. I don’t agree. I knew the Lord and was on my knees faithfully even though I was depressed.

2. Help someone else – Serving others is a good way to help yourself feel better . . . even if it’s only temporary. However . . .

3. Monitor your activities – Some people want to go to bed and pull the covers over their heads when they’re depressed. I tend to go into hyper-mode, believing that if I move fast enough I will be able to ignore the struggle. Neither way is healthy. If you’re finding yourself dealing with either extreme it’s time to accept that you may be dealing with something more than just a bad mood.

I’m happy!

By God’s grace I am doing really well. I praise Him for these good days, but I also praise Him for those bad ones. Through both I have learned about myself. I’ve learned about people and mental health. The best thing I’ve learned is that God is who He says He is and I am able to trust Him more than ever before.

How about you?

If depression is robbing you of your happiness, determine today that you want to get help. It’s okay to want to be happy!

Will you please pray with me?

Father, We want to be happy. We want to trust You completely and joyfully obey You. But some days are hard. Really hard. We are hurting and we don’t know where to turn for help. Thank you for Your love, grace, and mercy. Thank You for allowing us to honestly come before You on both good and bad days. Help us. Guide and direct us. Deliver us from the pit, and stand us on solid ground. Thanks and praise. Amen.

I waited patiently for the Lord to help me, and He turned to me and heard my cry.
He lifted me out of the pit of despair, out of the mud and the mire. He set my feet on solid ground and steadied me as I walked along.
He has given me a new song to sing, a hymn of praise to our God. Psalm 40:1-3

Photo Credit

Deb is a wife, mom, “gram,” and busy blogger. Visit Counting My Blessings, where she “gazes with gratitude at God’s amazing grace.” You can also find her at HomeGoods Openhouse and pick up tips and ideas for decorating on a budget. In 2010, she shared her personal happiness project in Woman’s Day Magazine and WD Happiness Blog. Deb loves serving in ministry beside her husband, Blake, and invites you to visit their internet prayer ministry – Pray for You.
Deb
View all posts by Deb
Debs website

One thought on “Are You Happy?

Leave a comment